Academic Avoidance

Lately I have been procrastinating. A lot. I have a million excuses I keep using for avoiding my school work:

  • I’ve just had a week away at ‘school’, I need to relax and unwind
  • I’m having another week away (Girl Guides conference and then a medical interview for Dan in Canberra), I need to relax and unwind before all of that travel
  • I’ll just watch the end of this DVD – I hate leaving a video half-way through in case someone rewinds it and I lose my place (except that excuse is redundant nowadays but still in use!)
  • The sun’s out, I should go outside and play with Charlie
  • I want to finish my quilt, I better work on that
  • We haven’t been to the farm in weeks, let’s spend a long weekend there
  • The kitchen really needs cleaning, I’ll do that for a few hours
  • Then I’ll do the bathroom!!

And so on and so forth.

It’s so hard to drag myself away from DVDs and YouTube and trashy day-time TV. This month of travel (past and future) has messed up my academic routine to no end and is frustrating the heck outta me!

The next component of my summer school assessment is due on Friday (the same day I leave for my Girl Guides conference) and I need to get it done by tomorrow at 6pm (which is ‘computer shut down time’ for me). Today I have been doing the basics for it, which can then be fleshed out in the final draft.

It makes me feel like I have, maybe, finally started to accomplish something (beyond sitting on the couch all day). I think having posted my ‘to do’ list to Instagram (and subsequently Twitter) really helped me with my accountability (it’s, you know, out there now, so it has to be done).


Source: Me via Instagram

I have about an hour before I wake Dan for the evening and in that time I want to WILL complete the first draft of this assessment (basically, a written exhibition concept proposal).

One response to “Academic Avoidance

  1. lol – I can relate to this so easily! I cleaned the oven TWO DAYS IN A ROW when I was doing my BA. Yes, I had an essay almost due. I truly believe procrastination is a fabulous tool – while I was mindlessly cleaning crunchy bits from my oven, the perfect response to the essay question popped into my head. Honest.

Leave a comment