#AcWri for Accountability

My studious pal Jenn has come up with a brilliant way of sharing our writing goals with each other (and other academic writers) as a form of accountability: the Academic Writing Accountability program. This initiative works in conjunction with her Studious Network (an online forum for academics) and is communicated via (our best friend) Twitter (using the hash tag #AcWri). Jenn cites the following reasons for creating the program:

Daily writing habit is essential for academic success and this habit can be cultivated through practice.
Be accountable for your own writing by publicly share your writing goal.
Productivity will increase when it is being measured or monitored.
Peer support is the best motivation in academic writing.

I find all of these points relevant to my need for accountability. And the easy access to peer support via Twitter (and the Studious Network) means I am constantly getting feedback from others in my position.

So, what are my goals for Academic Writing Accountability?

  • Write 300 words every day  — this does not have to be writing chapters but can include thesis related blog posts, notes I take while reading,  etc.
  • Make daily updates to my peers (via Twitter using the #AcWri tag) to maintain daily accountability
  • Write a weekly ‘totals’ entry in my thesis journal to record my long term progress

EDIT

I have decided I need to add an element to my #AcWri goals:

  • Read two articles towards my research every day — this is at least for the short term, while I am still at the very beginning of my thesis
Leave a Reply

